Professional Development Header

Peer Learning Communities

The NETA Peer Learning Communities (PLC) help members' staff increase skills, collegiality and long-term commitment to public media's education mission. PLCs connect members and provide a space for sharing best practices, developing professional support networks and identifying high-impact projects that members could jointly pursue. 


Join your community!

Each NETA PLC has a member-elected executive committee consisting of a chair, vice-chair, members-at-large and a NETA staff liaison. NETA members are welcome to join a PLC that best fits their role in public media. Contact the NETA Liason for the PLC you choose in order to join.


Chair • Michael Harryman, PBS Wisconsin
Vice-Chair • Denita Malvern, KERA
Past Chair • Kristen Penczek, Maryland Public Television
Member at Large • Mariano Avila, Milwaukee PBS
Member at Large • Cari Kozicki, Lehigh Valley Public Media
Member at Large • Amy Labenski, WETA
NETA Liaison • Tim Eernisse

Join the Community Engagement PLC on Public Media Learns


Chair • Thomas Todd, PBS North Carolina
Vice Chair • Heather Mazzoni, WHRO
Past Chair • Dorothy McGrath, Milwaukee PBS
Secretary • Mike Tobias, Nebraska Public Media
Member at Large • Brenda Bowyer, WNIT
Member at Large • Jack Conely, WEDU
Member at Large • Stacia Hentz, WOSU
Member at Large • Paul Hunton, KTTZ
Member at Large • Kevin McDonald, New Mexico PBS
Member at Large • Sherri Walton, Idaho Public Television
NETA Liaison • Bob Petts

Join the Content PLC on Public Media Learns


Chair • Betsy Peisach, Maryland Public Television
Vice Chair • Nikki Vrandenbug, Montana PBS
Past Chair • Cindy Kirk, Alabama Public Television
Member at Large • Cathy Cook, WQED 
Member at Large • Laura Evans, Georgia Public Broadcasting 
Member at Large • Marion French, WXXI
Member at Large • Ben Garcia, Southern Oregon PBS
NETA Liaison • Rachel Morrison Parsons

Join the Education PLC on Public Media Learns


Chair • Sandy McBride, Idaho Public Television
Vice Chair • Cameron Risher, Nebraska Public Media
Past Chair • MiChelle Jones, Nashville Public Television
Member at Large • Avery Hutchins, WCTE/Cookeville
Member at Large • Lauren Menking, KERA/Dallas
Member at Large • Evy Todd, New Mexico PBS
NETA Liaison • Tonya Weber

Join the MarCom PLC On Public Media Learns