Skip to main content
NETA Professional Growth header

Peer Learning Communities

The NETA Peer Learning Communities (PLC) help members' staff increase skills, collegiality, and long-term commitment to public media's education mission. PLCs connect members and provide a space for sharing best practices, developing professional support networks, and identifying high-impact projects that members could jointly pursue. 

"PLCs give station staff the opportunity to bounce ideas off of other likeminded station staff and work together to build ideas for the greater good of the public media system. I appreciate being able to collaborate outside of my (station) bubble!" -Patricia Moynihan, director of digital, WFSU Public Media

"The NETA MarComm PLC is a great connector to others in the system. I’ve gained great friendships and learned so much from my time on this PLC." -Sandy Gillette McBride, director of communications, Idaho Public Television

Join your community!

Each NETA PLC has a member-elected executive committee consisting of a chair, vice-chair, members-at-large and a NETA staff liaison. NETA members are welcome to join a PLC that best fits their role in public media. Contact the NETA Liason for the PLC you choose in order to join.


Chair • Denita Malvern, Director of Community Engagement, KERA
Vice-Chair • Cari Kozicki, Vice President, Project Management, Lehigh Valley Public Media
Past Chair • Michael Harryman, Director of Marketing, Communications & Community Engagement, PBS Wisconsin
Member at Large • Caryline Clark, Engagement Manager, Iowa PBS
Member at Large • Emmalee Hackshaw, Vice President for Community Engagement, Georgia Public Broadcasting
Member at Large • Amy Labenski, Senior Director of National Impact and Engagement, WETA
Member at Large • Darren LaShelle, President & CEO, NorCal Public Media
NETA Liaison • Tim Eernisse

Join the Community Engagement PLC on Public Media Learns


Chair • Heather Mazzoni, Chief Content Officer, WHRO
Vice Chair • Brenda Bowyer, Senior Producer, WNIT
Past Chair • Thomas Todd, Senior Producer and Director, PBS North Carolina
Member at Large • Karen Bell, Director of Programming, KET
Member at Large • Nancy Coddington, Director of Science Content, Programs & Services, WSKG
Member at Large • Fujio Watanabe, Manager of Media Production, Houston Public Media
NETA Liaison • Bob Petts

Join the Content PLC on Public Media Learns


Chair • Nikki Vradenburg, Director of Education, Montana PBS
Vice Chair • Laura Evans, Director of Education, Georgia Public Broadcasting
Past Chair • Betsy Peisach, Vice President of Education, Maryland Public Television
Member at Large • Cathy Cook, Director of Education, WQED
Member at Large • Marion French, VP Education, WXXI
Member at Large • Arionna Ralleigh, Curriculum Design Manager, Nine PBS
Member at Large • Carolyn Jacobs, Senior Manager, Training and Educator Engagement, GBH
NETA Liaison • Lindsey Foat

Join the Education PLC on Public Media Learns


Chair • Cameron Risher, Director of Communications, Nebraska Public Media
Vice Chair • Evy Todd, Publicists/Station Relations, New Mexico PBS
Past Chair • Sandy McBride, Director of Communications, Idaho Public Television
Member at Large • Erik Ernst, Communications Associate Director, PBS Wisconsin
Member at Large • Sarah Lewis, Communications Manager, Iowa PBS
Member at Large • Patricia Moynihan, Director of Digital, WFSU
Member at Large • Leandra Parks, Digital Marketing Strategist, VPM
NETA Liaison • Tonya Weber

Join the MarCom PLC on Public Media Learns