About NETA

The National Educational Telecommunications Association (NETA) is a professional association representing 275 member stations in 46 states, the Virgin Islands and the District of Columbia. NETA provides leadership, general audience content, educational services, professional development and trusted financial management services, including human resources and benefits administration, to individual public media licensees, their affinity groups and public media as a whole.

NETA's history: 1997 - present
SECA: the original organization 1967 - 1997

NETA Staff List


NETA is governed by a board of directors composed of the general manager or designee from each member licensee and an elected representative from each of the eight professional councils and one elected representative from the affiliate members. NETA's unique board structure gives each member's concerns an equal hearing. NETA's board represents over 80% of all public television stations.

FY 2020 NETA Board Member List - updated 4/22/2020

NETA's FY 2020 executive committee members:

Board Chair • Vickie Lawson, East Tennessee PBS, Knoxville, Tennessee
Vice Chair • Ron Pisaneschi, Idaho Public Television
Secretary • Laura Hunter, Utah Education Network, Salt Lake City
Treasurer • Gene Purcell, PBS Wisconsin
Member at large • Amy Burkett, Charlotte PBS
Member at large • Courtney Pledger, Arkansas Educational Television Network
Past Chair • Molly Phillips, Iowa PBS



Members of the NETA board of directors and staff represent the interests of NETA members on the boards and committees of APTS, CPB, and PBS as well as other national organizations related to public media.