The Public Media Awards

The NETA Awards are now the Public Media Awards honoring our members' achievements in education, community engagement, marketing/communication, and content. 

The Public Media Awards presented by NETA are a mosaic. A mosaic of the highest caliber programming, education, marketing and engagement. A mosaic of relevant content that reflects both creativity and diversity. And a mosaic of narratives that paint rich stories of truth and consequence. Piece by piece and member by member, we come together as choreographers of the public good, to spark more imagination and inspiration than we ever could have alone.
The awards will be presented in January 2020 during the annual NETA Conference and CPB Public Media Thought Leaders Forum.

Questions about anything Awards-related:  awards@netaonline.org or contact Tim Eernisse at 803-978-1597


The 52nd Public Media Award Categories
The 52nd Public Media Awards categories were updated by a working group of public media station leaders who reviewed every award and suggested new areas of focus as well as new entry categories.

Enter Here

Station Division Categories

Finalists will be notified via station General Managers by mid-November. 

Entries open July 7th and will close on September 30


We've made it even easier this year. There's just one place to go, the Public Media Awards Platform (see link above.) Create an account there, then upload the assets that present your award entry.

We want you to provide the judges with the following information:

  • Narrative - Description of the project. Be sure to include the names of the people involved. Delineate your goals and objectives; how this project was planned and executed. If partners were involved, describe their role/participation. Was this project something entirely new or a fresh take on something done before? Make a strong case for your work.
  • Supporting Materials - Photos of related promotional items (e.g., tshirt); screen grabs of social media posts; photos from events, etc.
  • Video - If your entry has a video component, upload the video, or provide a URL and password for judges to access it.

Use your best judgment.

If we think the entry belongs in a different category, we will confer with you before moving it.

You will not be disqualified for entering in the 'wrong' category – don’t worry.

Call or email us if you have a category question.

Yes. Please do.

Many previous winners have entered in multiple categories. Multiple platforms are the nature of public media.

You have options:

When you provide the video component, you can either upload the video file (we take all formats) or you can provide the URL to the video. E.g., YouTube, Vimeo, etc.
If a password is required to access your video, please be sure you provide it.

No, probably not.

Your entry must be works created / published / broadcast and/or events that occurred on or between July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020 to be eligible for award consideration.

No, sorry. The Awards honor the work of NETA member stations.

You should join NETA. The awards are just one important part of the station-centered professional development that NETA does, all year long.

We would truly welcome your station as a member. To join NETA as a full-fledged member, contact Eric Hyyppa (our president) at 803-978-1581, or use our contact form

In the "Independent Production" category only.

If you win, NETA will contact your station's president/CEO by mid-October. Winners will be notified in time to register for our annual conference where the awards will be presented with much pomp and festivity.

A handsome engraved crystal trophy, recognition and applause from your peers throughout public media, and legendary fame.

Eligibility and Entry



$60 per early bird entry through 11:59 PM Hawaii Standard Time on August 14. 


$80 per entry after 12:00 AM Hawaii Standard Time on September 30.
VISA or MasterCard accepted.

  • No checks or purchase orders permitted.
  • No refunds issued for any reason.
  • You may withdraw your entry from competition, but your entry fee will not be refunded
  • Entry deadline: September 18, 2020 at midnight Hawaii Standard Time.
  • To be eligible, the entry must have been created/produced/published/posted/broadcast between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020.
  • You may enter as many eligible projects as you want.
  • You may enter the same project in multiple categories.
  • Any number of entries in any category may be submitted.
  • Awards will be presented to winning entries from members in good standing as of the 2020 conference dates.