Past Winners

   Public Television's Best
  (November 1, 2012 – St. Louis, Missouri)  The National Educational Telecommunications Association (NETA) honored twenty public broadcasters with awards on stage at the Renaissance Grand hotel. In all, thirty trophies in content production, promotion, community engagement, and instructional media were awarded.  The presentation was part of NETA’s annual conference, held this year in St. Louis, Missouri.
  In addition to the NETA awards, the NETA Education Center Board presented the 2012 Innovation award to Alabama Public Television for its success with the Exploring Mount Vernon electronic field trip for middle school students. 
The judges’ panel also honored The Nine Network of Public Media with a “Best of the Best” award for its groundbreaking community work with public media at The Nine Academy.
  The 2012 NETA Award winners are:
Community Engagement
            Blue Ridge PBS:
Women, War and Peace (based on a national initiative)
            KET-The Kentucky Network: 2011 Election Coverage Using Social Media
            KMOS/Warrensburg: KMOS Kids Day (based on a local initiative)
            KUED/Salt Lake City: Utah’s Freedom Riders (based on a national initiative)
            Nashville Public Television: Next Door Neighbors: Storytellers (nontraditional)
            Vermont Public Television: Concert for Flood Relief (community impact)
            WGBH/Boston: High School Quiz Show (based on a local initiative)
  Content Production
            Alabama Public Television:
We Have Signal: Live from Birmingham
            Basin PBS/Midland, Texas:  Western Perspective  (Information)
            Idaho Public Television: Outdoor Idaho: The People’s Land
(News & Public Affairs)
            KUED/Salt Lake City: Horses of The West: America’s Love Story                 
            MontanaPBS: Montana Focus: Homeless Schooling (News & Public Affairs)
            Nine Network of Public Media/St. Louis: Carmina Burana (Performance)
            South Dakota Public Broadcasting: The Stavig Letters (History)
            UNC-TV: Oklahoma! (Performance)
            WLRN/Miami: Hecho a Mano: Creativity in Exile (Biography)
            WXXI/Rochester: Second Opinion: Mystery Diagnosis (Information)
            Wyoming PBS: Alan K. Simpson Nothing Else Matters (Biography)
  Instructional Media
            KET/The Kentucky Network:
 Self-Paced Professional Development Modules
(Inservice/Staff Development)
            KET/The Kentucky Network: Education Promotion Packet (Teacher Resource)
            Thirteen/WNET: Mission US: Mission 2 – Flight to Freedom
            (Classroom Content)
            Thirteen/WNET: Noah Comprende (Nontraditional)
            Thirteen/WNET: Get the Math (Instructional Media Product)
            Vermont Public Television: “Above The Fold” Journalism Contest
           (Classroom Content)
KMOS Kids Day
           (Special Event – double winner in Engagement)
            KET:  Jubilee - "Summertime Blues" (Promotion Campaign)
            MontanaPBS: Proof of Performance (Promotion Campaign)
            OETA/Oklahoma City:  “Because of OETA” (Single Video)
            Thirteen/WNET: Celebration of Teaching & Learning Program Book
(Print Design)
            Vegas PBS: Vegas PBS 5K Run & 1 Mile Walk (Special Event)
The NETA Awards are annual recognition of member-produced excellence in public broadcasting, a tradition established forty-five years ago by the pioneering Southern Educational Communications Association from which NETA was formed.
NETA is a professional association organized in 1997 to serve public television licensees and affiliated educational organizations.  The organization has members in 43 states, the District of Columbia, and the Virgin Islands.  NETA is headquartered in Columbia, South Carolina.