The 2009 NETA Award Winners!


   (January 14, 2009 – Henderson, Nevada)  NETA honored 23 public broadcasters with awards
   Thursday on stage at the M Resort. In all, thirty trophies in the areas of content production,
   promotion, outreach, and instructional media, were awarded. 

   In addition to the NETA awards, the NETA Education Center board presented its inaugural
   Enterprise Innovation Award to WHRO/Norfolk’s ThinkPlex™, for its exemplary success in
   delivering multi-platform education services to students, teachers, parents, and care providers
   throughout the state of Virginia.

   The 2009 NETA Awards winners are:

Vegas PBS / Las Vegas: 
    Family Literacy Kit for the Blind and Visually-Impaired (instructional media product)
    Western Reserve Public Media / Akron: 
    Quiz Bus: Dealing with Data (instructional media product)
    KET / Kentucky: 
    Literacy Leadership: Stories of Schoolwide Success (teacher resource)
    Idaho Public Television / Boise: 
    Dialogue for Kids 10th Anniversary Special Festival Edition (instructional content)
    Wisconsin Educational Communications Board / Madison: 
    World Language Assessment: Get in the Mode! (inservice)

ThinkTV / Dayton:  We Can Be Leaders (single video)
   Wisconsin Public Television:  Young Artists Compete: The Final Forte (single video)
   Wisconsin Public Television: Teen Connection poster (print design)
   Wisconsin Public Television: Portal Wisconsin Redesign (Web/Blog)
   KET/Kentucky:  "My Kentucky" Flickr Photo Contest (new media)
   South Dakota Public Broadcasting:  Deadwood Songbook (campaign)
   NET / Nebraska:  Reach, Connect, Inspire (corporate/institutional)
   Western Reserve Public Media / Akron:  Rebranding campaign (corporate/institutional)

Louisiana Public Broadcasting:  Return to the Forest Where We Live (licensee project)
   Blue Ridge PBS / Roanoke:  JobQuest (licensee project)
   Thirteen/ / New York:  Looking for Lincoln (national project)
   WGBH / Boston:  Engineer Your Life (community impact)
   Blue Ridge PBS / Roanoke:  JobQuest (community impact) 

   Wyoming PBS:  Capitol Outlook (news and public affairs)
   NET/Nebraska:  Electing A President: Nebraska Voter Diaries (news and public affairs)  
   OPB/Oregon:  Silent Invasion: An Oregon Field Guide Special (science and nature)
   Idaho Public Television:  Outdoor Idaho: XTREME SPORTS (information)
   WUSF / Tampa:  Florida Matters # 101 “Innovators”  (information)
   KUED / Salt Lake City:  Wallace Stegner (biography)
   KUAC / Fairbanks:  Mr. Alaska: Bob Bartlett Goes to Washington (biography)
   WLAE / Metairie: Fats Domino: Walkin’ Back to New Orleans (history)
   WLRN / Miami:  All Shook Up: Miami’s Glory Days of Music (history)
   Idaho Public Television:  Kevin Kirk & Onomatopoeia in Concert (performance)
   MontanaPBS:  11th & Grant with Eric Funk (performance)
   Vermont Public Television:  Emerging Science (series)
   OETA / Oklahoma:  Stateline: Television Pioneers (series) 
   The NETA Awards are annual recognition of member-produced excellence in public broadcasting,
   a tradition established more than forty years ago by the pioneering Southern Educational
   Communications Association.

   NETA is a professional association founded in 1997 to serve public television licensees and
   affiliated educational organizations.  The organization has members in 42 states, the District
   of Columbia, and the Virgin Islands.  NETA is headquartered in Columbia, SC. 

   Link here for additional information on the organization and its services.

               NETAOnline is a service of the National Educational Telecommunications Association  
               Mail:  PO Box 50008, Columbia, SC  29250    Ship:  939 South Stadium Road, Columbia, SC  29201
               t: 803-799-5517   f: 803-771-4831                                                                                           [site map]